Lisa Kay Stark Circuit Court Judge, Eau Claire County Circuit Court Branch 1

Born: March 15, 1957 in Appleton, Wisconsin

Spouse: Thomas J. Misfeldt

Education: Manitowoc Lincoln High School 1975 BA from University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire 1979 JD from University of Wisconsin Law School 1982


Admitted to practice of law in Wisconsin, and Federal District Court, Western District of Wisconsin in June, 1982.

General civil litigation practice as a partner in Misfeldt, Stark, Richie, Wickstrom and & Wachs and predecessor firms from 1983 to August of 2000. Elected to Circuit Court for Eau Claire County, Branch 1, April of 2000. Re-elected in April of 2006 and 2012. I serve in a general jurisdiction court.

Appointed by the Chief Justice to serve as Dean of the Wisconsin Judicial College on September 3, 2010. Appointed to two, three year terms as Associate Dean of the Judicial College in 2005 and 2008.

Emeritus member of the Wisconsin Civil Jury Instruction Committee. Served on the Committee from 2001 to 2011, and as chair of the committee from 2007 to 2011.

Appointed as the Judicial Representative for the State of Wisconsin Council on Offender Reentry.

Appointed to the United Corrections Coalition PSI sub group.

Appointed to the Benchmarks sub committee for the State of Wisconsin Criminal Justice Collaborating Council.

Presiding Judge for the Eau Claire County Drug Court, 2004 to date. Chair of the Alternative Treatment Court Collaborating Council for Eau Claire County.

President of the Eau Claire County Restorative Justice Program from 2002 to date.

Member of the State Courts Effective Justice Strategies Sub Committee from 2005 to date.

Member of the Eau Claire County Criminal Justice Collaborating Council, Chair of the Juvenile Justice Collaborating Council and member of the Eau Claire County Evidence- based Decision Making Initiative.

Presented at many judicial education, State Bar of Wisconsin and treatment court association seminars, and at the University of Wisconsin Law School Lawyering Skills course on seven occasions.

Volunteer Work:

Served on the Boards of Directors for the Indianhead Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association, State Regional Arts Center, Eau Claire Main Street Association, the United Way of the Greater Eau Claire Area, the Eau Claire Area YMCA, and the Eau Claire Area Chamber of Commerce.

Chair of the Board of Directors for the Eau Claire Area Chamber of Commerce in 1999.

London Square Bank Board of Directors from 1995 to 2000.

Served on various committees for the City of Eau Claire from 1985 to 2000.


University of Wisconsin of Eau Claire Distinguished Alumni Award, December 18, 2004

Athena Award from the Greater Eau Claire Chamber of Commerce, April 2005

Women in the Law Award for 2010 from the Wisconsin Law Journal

Aulik Award from the Wisconsin Association of Treatment Court Professionals, April 2010